LEARNING CENTER

Larry's Bridge Quizzes
SHARE:

Which Bids Are Alerted?


quiz-pic

Alerting is something that causes a lot of confusion for newer players (and even some experienced ones). Part of the problem is that the rules on what needs to be alerted can change. A good rule: if partner makes a bid that doesn't show that suit naturally, you should alert it. One of several exceptions to this is Stayman (not alertable).

 

In face-to-face bridge, we alert our partner's bids. Online, we "self-alert" and tell our opponents that we've made a bid that doesn't mean what it looks like.

 

There is an area where bids are "just bridge" and that can easily cause confusion, but it's safer to over-alert if you know you have an agreement than to under-alert and potentially damage the opponents. 

Which bids should be alerted? The N-S pair is playing Jacoby 2NT. 

WestNorthEastSouth
   1♠  Pass  2NT
 Pass  3♠  Pass  4♠
 Pass  4♠  All Pass  

 

Choose One:

2NT

3♠

4♠

4♠

2NT and 3♠

2NT, 3♠ and 4♠

Which bids should be alerted? The N-S plays that 3♠ is weak after East's takeout double. 

WestNorthEastSouth
   1♠ DBL  3♠
 Pass  4♠ All Pass  

 

Choose One:

1♠

DBL

3♠

4♠

None of the above

Dbl and 3♠

Which of these calls needs to be alerted (explanations follow)?

 

WestNorthEastSouth
   1♠  Pass  4♠
 Pass  4NT  Pass  5♠
 Pass  6♠  All Pass  

4♠ = splinter showing shortness and heart support with game forcing values

4NT= 1430 Keycard Blackwood

5♠ = 3/0 Keycards

6♠ = to play

Choose One:

4♠

4NT

5♠

All of the Above

None of the Above

Which of the following bids should be alerted? Explanations follow. 

 

WestNorthEastSouth
   1♠  2♠  2♠
 4♠  Pass  Pass  Double
 All Pass      

2♠ = Michaels Cuebid showing spades and a minor

2♠ = Cuebid of spades; limit raise or better in hearts

4♠ = Natural

Dbl = Penalty

Choose One:

2♠

2♠

4♠

Double

All of the above

None of the above

Two of the above

Which of the following bids is alertable? Explanations follow. 

 

WestNorthEastSouth
   1♠ Pass  1♠
 Pass  1NT  Pass  2♠
 Pass  2♠  Pass  4♠
 All Pass    

 

1♠ = 4+ spades 6+ points

1NT = 12-14 points and not four spades

2♠ = New Minor Forcing

Choose One:

1NT

2♠

2♠

4♠

All of the Above

None of the Above

Which of the following calls is alertable? Explanations follow. 

 

WestNorthEastSouth
 1NT  2♠  Pass  2♠
 Pass  2♠  All Pass  

1NT = 15-17 balanced

2♠ = Clubs and a higher suit (DONT)

2♠ = Pass or correct

2♠  = Hearts is the other suit

Choose One:

2♠

2♠

2♠

All of the above

None of the Above

Two of the Above