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DOUBLE TROUBLE 

In the ?? previous months, (??) we studied Takeout and Negative Doubles. A 

Takeout Double is made after the opponents open. A Negative Double is made by 

responder after an overcall. This month, we move into a very important family of 

Doubles, starting with Responsive Doubles. Responsive Doubles are made by the 

Advancer. Who is that? 

“Advancer” is a relatively new term in bridge bidding, but don’t let it scare you 

away. The Advancer is the partner of the person who overcalled or doubled. 

Another way to put it is that the Advancer is the fourth player to act after the 

Opening bid. Example: 

OPENER      OVERCALLER RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1D   1S   2D      Double 

 

Or 

OPENER      DOUBLER  RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1H      Double       1S         2C 

In both cases, it is the partner of the overcaller/doubler who is taking action. To 

make it easier to follow the discussion, we call him the “Advancer.” 

RESPONSIVE DOUBLES 

This cousin of the takeout double is used by the takeout doubler’s partner. The 

typical auction is: 

OPENER                DOUBLER  RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1D   Double  2D   Double 



As usual, it makes no sense to play this low-level double for penalties. It shows 

values and a desire to compete for the partscore. What values and what exactly 

does it show? The higher the level, the higher the requirements. On low levels 

(below the three-level), a responsive double can be made with as few as 7-8 HCP. 

There is no upper limit, though the doubler isn’t likely to hold too much strength 

(there has already been an opening bid, a takeout double and a response). In 

general, a responsive doubler is saying: “I want to bid, but don’t wish to choose a 

suit. Partner—you choose.” The responsive doubler above might hold: 

K987  A654  32  Q32.   

He doesn’t want to guess a major (possibly landing in a 4-3 fit), so he doubles to 

send the choice back to opener (who will bid his cheapest 4-card suit). Is the 

responsive doubler guaranteeing both majors? No. Advancer could hold, for 

example,  KJ7  AJ4  543  J543.  He has too much strength to pass, doesn’t wish to 

barge into 3C (possibly an ugly 4-3 fit on the three-level), and he doesn’t have a 

diamond stopper to bid 2NT. That leaves a responsive double. Here is a simple 

definition of what is shown by a Responsive Double: A desire to compete, but no 

clear action. 

Quiz: 

What should Advancer do after this auction with each hand shown? 

OPENER                DOUBLER   RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1H   Double   2H   ?? 

A) K987  876  65  10432 

B) K65  54  AJ32  Q1076 

C) AQJ8  32  J54  8765 

 

Answers: 

A) Pass – Not enough strength to come in freely 

B) Double—Let the takeout doubler choose (be content to play a 4-3 spade 

fit on the two-level) 

C) 2S—No need for a responsive double here. 

WHAT IF THEIR RESPONDER CHANGES SUIT? 



So far, their responder has always raised after the takeout double. What if he bids 

a new suit (or notrump), such as in this auction? 

OPENER                DOUBLER  RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1D   Double   1S  Double 

Is double still responsive? This is a matter to be decided by each partnership. There 

is no universal answer. If you wish to keep things consistent (not a bad idea), I 

recommend this: Play responsive doubles in all situations. In other words, if your 

partner makes a takeout double, and you double responder’s bid (raise or not, 

notrump or not), you are showing “cards/values.”  On the auction above, for his 

double, advancer might hold: Axx  QJx  xxxx  K10x. No other call fits this hand. 

If Advancer happens to have Responder’s suit, he can just bid it. So, in this 

auction, 2S by Advancer is natural: 

OPENER                DOUBLER  RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1D   Double   1S    2S 

 

 

 

WHAT IF WE OVERCALL INSTEAD OF DOUBLING? 

There is one last area of responsive doubles to examine. What if we overcall and 

they raise, such as:  

OPPONENT          OVERCALLER RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1D   1S   2D   Double 

Should this be a responsive double? Sure, why not? Advancer is more likely to 

hold “not diamonds” than diamonds.    

Qx  Qxxx  xx  AJxxx  is more likely than: 

 xx  xxx  QJ1098  Axx.   

Not everything in this series is 100% standard. The recommendations are the 

author’s suggestions for maximum system gain combined with ease of memory. 

For Larry’s complete system ideas, see LC STANDARD on www.larryco.com 



Here’s a great general rule: “When the opponents bid and raise a suit, there is no 

such thing as a penalty double (at any level).” On the auction above, you wouldn’t 

be likely to hold a penalty double of diamonds. Accordingly, double is responsive. 

The responsive doubler won’t have three-card spade support (he would just raise). 

He is showing something like: 

J2  AQ87  654  K653.   

There are no exact parameters; the general idea is to try to have at least 4-4 in the 

unbid suits. The higher the level, the greater the number of HCP required for such 

a double.  

QUIZ: 

With nobody vulnerable, the auction begins: 

OPENER                OVERCALLER  RESPONDER YOU 

2H   2S    3H   ?? 

What do you bid with: 

D)   QJ4  54  K765  K765 

E)    42  42  KQ653  AQ76 

F)    3  QJ109   A432   8765 

G)  KJ  AQ8  10872  J876 

D) 3S. Support with support. 

E) Double – to show something like this. 

F) Pass. Your partner is not a mind-reader. Double is not penalty. Not enough for 

3NT. 

G) 3NT. If you don’t bid it, who will? Don’t make a responsive double. 

 

THROUGH WHAT LEVEL IS A DOUBLE RESPONSIVE? 

As with all doubles in this series, there is no upper limit. If the opponents bid and 

raise to a high level, you can be sure they have lots of trump. It makes no sense to 

define double as “Penalty.” If it goes  



OPENER      DOUBLER  RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1S   Dbl   4S      Double  

or 

OPENER      OVERCALLER RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1S   2H   4S      Double , 

advancer won’t be sitting there with KQ109 in spades. The meaning of double, 

therefore, is “Partner—I have values, I’m willing to hear from you.”  

After 

OPENER      OVERCALLER  RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1H   1S   4H       Double  

the double would be responsive, but it couldn’t be a hand as weak as:   

Q4  32  Q8765  QJ76.  A responsive double should be made, however, with:   

A2  32  A10876  QJ42.  As usual, with high-level, non-penalty doubles, the partner 

of the doubler will often leave it in. If the overcaller has nothing special, say: 

KQ765  J4  Q32  K87, he has nowhere to go. He’ll just pass and hope to beat them 

in 4HX.  

Review of all the doubles in this series so far: Whenever the double is on the four-

plus level, the partner takes it out only with good reason (a good reason being 

surprising shape). On lower levels, the partner of non-penalty doubles will almost 

always take them out.  

QUIZ: 

With nobody vulnerable, the auction begins: 

OPENER                DOUBLER   RESPONDER YOU 

1S   Double   4S   ?? 

What do you bid with: 

H) 54  AQ43  KQ54  642 

I) 2  KQJ876  QJ43  32 

J)  QJ98   A32   654  432 



H) Double. Showing values, but nothing to bid. Partner will leave it in if he has 

some flat, dull hand. 

I) 5H. Not fun to get pushed around, but they don’t allow you to bid 4H over 4S. 

J) Pass. You aren’t likely to get dealt a hand like this, but you just have to bite the 

bullet and pass (and blame me that double is not for penalty). With luck, partner, 

who is likely short in spades, will double again for takeout  and you can convert it 

for penalties. 

 

SNAPDRAGON 

One other auction to consider is: 

OPENER                OVERCALLER RESPONDER ADVANCER 

1D   1H   1S   Double 

In this case, three suits were bid before the double. Partner has overcalled, but they 

haven’t raised—they’ve changed suit. You don’t think this double is for penalty 

(spades), do you? Not in modern bridge. It shows something like: 

 

Axx  Qx  xxx  KJxxx.  

You want to compete, but nothing else fits. You don’t have stoppers for notrump 

or enough trumps to raise. You don’t want to trot out that so-so club suit on the 

two-level, so you double. Such a double typically delivers two-card support for 

partner and five cards in the unbid suit. This Double actually has a name 

(Snapdragon), but I’m getting way beyond the difficulty level I intended. Still, 

without knowing the name, if you stay with the motto of this series (no low-level 

doubles are for penalty), you’ll survive such an animal (it is actually a flower). 

 

Next month … 

 

 


