
DOUBLE TROUBLE 

Last month we started a discussion about doubles by covering the Takeout Double 

and Responses. This month we move towards what I consider to be the most 

important convention in bridge: The Negative Double.  

A Negative double is made by Responder. It shows enough to bid, but a hand not 

suitable for anything else. Since responding on the two-level shows at least a five-

card suit and at least 10 points, there is no good way to describe many hand-types, 

thus the invention of the Negative double. 

There is only one auction to study. The auction has to go this way for it to be a 

Negative Double: 

OPENER                OPPONENT RESPONDER 

One anything      Any suit Bid  Double 

There you have it. Notice that negative doubles are not used when the opening bid 

is on the two-level or higher. Not everyone uses them after a 1NT opening (but I 

recommend doing so). 

The opponents can overcall in any suit (on any level—more on that later). If the 

opponents overcall in Notrump, there are no Negative doubles (Double is for 

penalties). 

Up until the late 1950’s, the double in the above auction was for penalties. This 

didn’t make much sense, since it was rare to be dealt length and strength in a suit 

the opponents have bid. Al Roth popularized his famous convention in 1957 and 

called it Sputnik (after the Russian satellite). He proposed that a double by 

responder should not be for penalty—it should be takeout. About 10 years later, the 

term was change to “Negative Doubles.” I see nothing “Negative” about them. To 

me, they should be called “Takeout Doubles by Responder.” Maybe someone can 

come up with a better name than “Negative Doubles,” but whether or not you like 

the name, the convention is here to stay. I don’t even think it should be considered 

a convention. It is part of standard bidding. 

Let’s start out by answering the most-asked questions, starting with: 

How Many HCP? 

 

There is no exact requirement. It all depends on how high the overcall is. If the 



opponents overcall on the one-level, a negative double can be made with as few as 

6 or 7 HCP. On the two level, the requirements go up a bit (at least 8-9 HCP) and 

even higher on the three-plus level (close to an opening bid). There is no need to 

get too exact with these ranges, because “level” is a confusing term here.  If your 

partner opens 1H and they overcall 2C, you are on the two-level, but very 

comfortably so. After your negative double, your partner has the entire two-level to 

make his second bid. Conversely, if their overcall is 2S, while you are still 

technically on the two-level, your partner will often have to make his next bid on 

the three level.  So, a negative double after their 2S starts with a slightly higher 

minimum requirement than a negative double of a 2C overcall. We don’t want to 

memorize a different range for each specific overcall, so let’s just go with: 

1-level: 6/7+ 

2-level: 8/9+ 

3+level: 11/12+ 

What’s really important in the ranges is the open-ended plus sign. “Plus” means 

unlimited. A negative double can be made with 15, 20 or even more points. 

Sometimes it is the best call and the only descriptive bid possible. 

QUIZ 

After :  1C  (1S)  ??, what would you do with each of these hands? 

A) 54  KJ43  8764  432 

B) 42  KQ76  A542  1087 

C) 2  KJ876  Q32   J876 

D) 2  KQJ8  AQ76  AJ43 

A. Pass (not enough strength to act). 

B. Double (and be happy it isn’t 1956 where you would have no good bid) 

C. Double (on the light side, but surely you don’t want it to go 1C (1S) P P P). You 

don’t have enough strength for a direct 2H response. 

D. Double (there is no upper limit; let’s look for a 4-4 heart fit to start). 

After:  1D (3H) ?? what would you do with each of these hands? 

E) AQJ76  A2 J876  32 



F) A32  AJ98  654  732 

G) AQ103  43  KQ98  J32 

H) AQ95  32  AKQ  A432 

 

E) 3S. Normal with 5+ spades and a good hand (at this level, about an opening bid) 

F) Pass. Partner is not a mind reader. If you double, he will take it out. 

G) Double. Again delighted that it isn’t 1956 where you would be stuck. 

H) Double. There is no upper limit. Let’s look for a 4-4 spade fit and go from 

there. 

On What Level? 
 

From the above quiz you can see that I advocate negative doubles on the three-

level. But why stop there? Negative doubles should be played on all levels. In fact, 

the higher they bid, the less likely you are to hold a penalty double. If an opponent 

makes a 4H overcall, do you expect to hold good long hearts? Once in a decade, 

maybe. So, double should mean “I don’t have hearts” as opposed to “I do have 

hearts.” It is shortsighted to write “Negative Doubles through 3S” (or any other 

arbitrary level) on your convention card. The only proper choice is either through 

7H or 7S or “through infinity”—indicated by: “.” I can’t say I’ve ever seen an 

overcall higher than 5D, but you get the idea. 

 

Refer back to last month’s (??) article on takeout doubles of four-level openings. 

While the high-level double is not meant as penalty, that doesn’t mean it won’t be 

left in. Opener will “always” take out a low-level negative double, but he doesn’t 

have to do so on the four or five level. If you open the bidding with a flat minimum 

and see partner make a negative double of their 4S overcall, you aren’t forced to 

take it out to the five-level. You’d just pass and hope that with your opening bid 

opposite partner’s announced strength that you can set them. Let’s examine this in 

quiz form by first deciding on a negative double and then looking at opener’s 

decision. 

 

QUIZ 

 



As responder, what is your call after partner opens 1D and RHO overcalls 4H 

(nobody vulnerable)? 

 

I) AQ32   3  AJ3  Q7654 

J) A43  AQ109  543  642 

K) J876  32  AK53  AK2 

L) KQ10  A2  AQ32  J876 

 

Answers: 

I) Double and be happy it isn’t “penalty.” 

J) Pass (the rare occasion where you are sorry double isn’t available as penalty). 

K) Double (it doesn’t show heart strength). 

L) Double (whatever partner does, you’ve shown your cards/values). 

What is your call as opener after you open 1D, they overcall 4H and partner 

doubles (nobody vulnerable)? 

M) KJ87  A2  KQ876  32 

N) 52  3  AKJ108  AJ1063. 

O) K32  AJ8  J762  QJ9 

P) J87  J8  KJ95  AK54.   

M) Bid 4S.  Your partner was prepared for you to takeout his “negative” double. If 

he can’t stand spades, he needs to have an alternate plan (like maybe taking you 

back to 5D). If he has hand “I” above, he will pass and you will be in the right 

contract. 

N) Bid 5C. When your partner doubles he is prepared to hear from you on such a 

hand.  

 

O)  Pass.  With a balanced hand, you are not expected to take out the negative 

double. Who wants to play at such a high level with a flat hand when the doubler 

also might be flattish? We don’t want to be on the five level in a 4-4 or even 4-3 

fit. Just as with takeout doubles of high-level openings, the partner of the doubler 

leaves the double in with no good reason to take it out. Picture partner with hand 



“K” above and 4HX is the proper final contract. 

 

P) Pass.  Again, don’t take out high-level negative doubles without shape. (Partner 

has hand “L” above). 

What does the double promise in the unbid suits? 

 

In general, the double is takeout. The focus is on the other major. With 5-cards in 

the other major and enough strength (10+ if it has to be bid on the two level, 6+ if 

on the one level), the responder will just bid the major. But, if he has only 4 cards 

(or not enough strength to go to the two level), he will usually double (see the 1D 

overcall exception below). The doubler doesn’t promise both of the unbid suits, but 

he needs a plan. For example, after: 

 

1D  (2S) 

 

It would be dangerous to make a negative double with: 

8432  AQJ42  J2  J7, because if the opener rebids in a minor, it will likely be a 

poor contract.  However, if the responder doubles with: 

832  AQJ4  QJ62  43, he has safety; he can always go back to diamonds if he 

doesn’t like his partner’s choice. 

 

There are, unfortunately, two special auctions which require memorization. When 

the overcall is one diamond or one heart (in other words, one of a red suit), the 

negative double has a very specific meaning as follows: 

 

After a 1  overcall: Double promises at least 4 cards in both Majors. Bidding a 

major guarantees only 4+ cards in that major. 

 

After a 1  overcall, Double promises exactly a 4-card spade suit. A free 1  bid 

shows at least a 5-card  suit.  

 

Note the underlining, boldface and italics. There is really no substitute for studying 

and memorizing this standard treatment. Perhaps some examples will help to 

reinforce it. 

 

QUIZ 



 

What do you do after 1C (1D) ??  (nobody vulnerable)? 

Q) AQ87   J43  QJ76  K2 

R) KJ87  AKQ4  A2  J32 

S) QJ10  AQ32  2  J8432 

Answers 

Q) 1S (don’t double, which would guarantee four hearts as well) 

R) Double (4-4 in majors, unlimited) 

S) 1H (don’t double without both majors) 

 

What do you do after 1C (1H)  ??  (nobody vulnerable)? 

T) A8765  A2  6543  32. 

U)  KJ76  54  543  K542 

V) AKJ7  652  AQ4  AK2 

 

T) 1S (promising at least 5). 

U) Double (I love when they overcall 1H; I can tell partner if I have exactly 4 

spades, or 5+ spades). 

V) Double (remember, there is no upper limit on a negative double). 

 

One other hand-type a negative doubler can hold is a weak one-suiter. After 

partner’s  1D and a 1S overcall, responder might hold, say: 

 

43  KQJ987  Q32  32.  He doesn’t quite have enough to bid 2H directly, but he can 

double and bid hearts next to show a one-suiter (and by logic, less than 10 points 

by the failure to bid 2H the first time). 

 

Reopening Doubles 

 

Playing negative double (as “everyone” does) doesn’t mean you can’t sometimes 

collect a large penalty after an overcall. You can have your cake and eat it too, 

because when responder holds a penalty double, he can pass. The opening bidder 

will typically balance with a double (for takeout) when it comes back to him and 

responder can leave it in. For example: 

 



After giving a lesson on one of my 

cruises (to supposedly intermediate 

players) on negative doubles, one 

gentleman came to me after the 

lecture to thank me. He said: “What a 

great lesson—now I know what that 

“x” is for in the bidding box.” 

1D  (1S)  ?? 

 

With the opponents vulnerable, the responder holds: 

 

AQ1085     A32    2    9876. 

 

He could bid notrump, but it is much more appealing to try to collect a penalty. He 

can’t double, of course (that would be negative—which means partner won’t leave 

it in). His best bet is to pass (without asking silly questions such as: “Do you ever 

overcall on a four-card suit?”). If LHO also passes (as is likely), the opening bidder 

will now double for takeout whenever he is short in spades. The hoped-for auction 

is: 

 

1D  (1S)  P   P 

X    P     P    P 

 

Must the opening bidder reopen with a double? With a singleton in their suit, 

opener always should double (even with a minimum) on the one or two level. With 

a doubleton, he can reopen with a decent-looking hand (especially on the one 

level). With length (at least three) in their suit, opener is not likely to reopen unless 

he has a special or powerful hand.  When responder has five-plus cards in the 

opponent’s overcalled suit, it is quite likely that opener is short, so this pass and 

then convert for penalties is not an infrequent occurrence. 

 

Opener’s Actions after a Negative Double 
 

While this series is on the actual doubles, here are a few simple notes for the 

opener to consider for his rebid after a negative double: 

On low levels, the negative double won’t be left in. Opener 

takes it out to a four-card major if possible (jumping with 

extras). With no four-card major, he rebids in notrump or a 

minor (jumping with extras—though opener’s jumpshifts 

after a negative double are invitational only—not forcing). 

Opener can cue-bid the opponent’s suit to create a force. On 

high levels (especially the four level), opener takes out a 

negative double only with a good reason (which means “distribution.”) Of course, 

much of this requires judgment—but that’s what makes this such a great game. 



 

Next Month (??): Responsive & DSI Doubles  


