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Newer Players

Bidding Basics
BY LARRY COHEN    larryco.com

Responding to 1NT – part 1

1NT is the most complex opening bid 
to respond to, so much so that we will 
need two issues to cover it. 

Let’s begin with the two main things 
to consider:
	 Level. Are we going to:
	 a.	 Insist on a partscore contract?
	 b.	 Invite game?
	 c.	 Insist on game?
	 d.	 Invite slam?
	 e.	 Insist on slam?
	 Trump suit. Are we going to:
	 a.	 Insist on notrump?
	 b.	 Show a five-card or longer suit?
	 c.	 Use Stayman to look for a 4–4 

major-suit fit?
Knowing that partner has 15–17 

balanced points will help us with these 
decisions.

Responder has a balanced hand
With two balanced hands, we’d want 

to have 26 HCP to reach 3NT. If, as 
responder, we have a balanced hand 
(4–3–3–3, 4–4–3–2 or 5–3–3–2), we 
can add our points to partner’s. With, 
say, 11 balanced points, we know our 
partnership has a combined 26–28 
points, which tells us we want to be in 
game (not partscore, not slam). It is our 
job to make sure our partnership lands 
in a game contract. 

What if we have less? Suppose, for 
example, we have 9 HCP, balanced. 
Now we want to be in game opposite 17 
(26 total), but a partscore opposite 15 
(24 total). Our job is to invite game. If 
we have less than 9 balanced points, we 
want to be in a partscore and will usu-

ally pass 1NT.
If we have a balanced hand with slam 

interest, we have several choices. One 
is to ask for aces with 4♣ (a conven-
tion called Gerber). This rarely comes 
up and is barely worth even this men-
tion. More common is an invitational 
bid of 4NT to ask partner if they are 
minimum or maximum. You might 
respond 4NT with something like: 
♠A 8 2   ♥K Q 9   ♦Q J 7 6   ♣A 10 8.

This is not Blackwood. Knowing how 
many aces partner has is not as im-
portant as asking if he is minimum or 
maximum.

Unbalanced hands
With unbalanced hands, the deci-

sion-making process is more difficult. 
A lot depends on if an eight-card (or 
longer) major-suit trump fit can be 
located.

This month, we will discuss Stay-
man. In Part 2, we will visit Jacoby 
Transfers and other responses.

Stayman
A 2♣ response to 1NT says nothing 

about clubs. It can be bid with a club 
void! The bid is completely artificial 
(but does not require an Alert). It asks 
opener about major-suit holdings. If 
opener has no four-card major, the 
answer to Stayman is 2♦. (Never 
should opener respond 2NT.) With one 
four-card major, the opener bids it at 
the two level. With both majors, hearts 
are bid first. With a five-card major, the 
opener treats it as four and, again, just 

bids it on the two level.
The follow-ups to these auctions 

will be covered in later articles in this 
series. For now, it suffices to say that 
the responder’s next move is to either 
pass, invite game, bid game, invite slam 
or bid slam.

What are the requirements to 
respond 2♣? How many high-card 
points do you need?

The first requirement is that re-
sponder has at least one four-card 
major. Without a four-card major, 
there is no need to use the 2♣ Stayman 
inquiry. Regarding high-card points, 
the most common hand-type contains 
invitational or better values. So that 
means at least 8 decent HCP or 9 HCP. 
Here is why:

Suppose you were to use Stayman 
with this 6-point hand:
♠Q 2   ♥A 7 6 5   ♦6 5 4   ♣10 6 3 2.

Your 2♣ is met with 2♠ by opener. 
Now what? You can’t pass (and play a 
4–2 fit). So you would have to correct 
to 2NT. Not only is this likely to be too 
high, but partner might bid 3NT! Yes, 
this auction is invitational. Stayman 
followed by 2NT is inviting 3NT. It 
means: “No, we didn’t find a 4–4 major 
fit, but I am still inviting game.”

So the typical minimum for Stay-
man would have a king added to the 
example above:
♠Q 2   ♥A 7 6 5   ♦6 5 4   ♣K 10 3 2.

Now, you can comfortably respond 
2♣ to 1NT. If partner doesn’t choose 
hearts, you follow up with 2NT,  
invitational.

2.

1.
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BIDDING BASICS QUIZThere is no upper limit on Stayman. 
You can add lots of points to the ex-
ample hand above and you would still 
start with 2♣ to look for the 4–4 heart 
fit. You would respond 2♣ with:
♠Q 2   ♥A K J 5   ♦A 5 4   ♣K J 10 3.

The difference is that if you have 
enough for game (or slam), you would 
later make sure to get there.

Can Stayman ever be used after 1NT 
with less than an invitational hand? 
Yes! But be careful to understand why. 
If the responder is willing to pass 
anything the opener responds (to Stay-
man), then it is okay to use it. What if 
responder were to use Stayman with:
♠5 4 3 2   ♥5 4 3 2   ♦6 5 4 3 2   ♣—?

An extreme example, but 2♣-Stay-

Partner opens 1NT (15–17 HCP) and 
RHO passes. What is your call with 
each of the following:

1. ♠6 4   ♥K 7 6 2   ♦Q 6 5   ♣J 9 3 2

2. ♠J 9 8 7   ♥10 8 7 6   ♦J 7 6 5   ♣2

3. ♠K 2   ♥K 2   ♦K J 10 8 7 6   ♣J 6 5

4. ♠K J 7 6   ♥K J 9 6   ♦10 3 2   ♣J 4

5. ♠K J 7 6   ♥K J 9 6   ♦10 3 2   ♣A 4

6. ♠K Q 10   ♥A Q J   ♦Q 7 6   ♣10 8 7 6

7. ♠K Q 10   ♥A Q J   ♦10 6 2   ♣A 10 8 6

8. ♠A 2   ♥K 2   ♦K Q J 9 8 7 6   ♣K J

1.	 Pass. You can’t afford Stayman be-
cause you would be stuck opposite 
anything but 2♥.

2.	 2♣. This time, you can comfort-
ably pass partner’s reply, even 2♦, 
which usually will provide at least 
a seven-card fit.

3.	 3NT. Showing minors will be 
covered next article, but there is no 
need to show diamonds here.

4.	 2♣. And then invite in partner’s 
major or with 2NT over 2♦.

5.	 2♣. And then insist on game in 
partner’s major or with 3NT over 
2♦.

6.	 3NT. Even opposite 17 and a total 
of 31, that isn’t enough to look for 
6NT.

7.	 4NT. Invitational. Partner will go 
with 17 and pass with 15. Judge-
ment is required with 16.

8.	 4♣. The very rare situation where 
you care only how many aces part-
ner has. You will reach game, small 
slam or grand slam, depending on 
the answer.

man is the right response to 1NT! Yes, 
you will get to the two level, but it will 
be in a playable trump suit – much bet-
ter than putting down this dummy in 
1NT where it is worth zero. If partner 
responds 2♥ or 2♠ to Stayman, it 
likely will go down, but the 4–4 fit 
won’t be too bad. Your hand will be 
worth something in a trump suit. If 
partner responds 2♦, you will pass. 
Partner has some diamonds (usually at 
least three) and you will be in a much 
better contract than 1NT. Some of your 
low diamonds will take tricks!

So, if you have short clubs and the 
other three suits, you can use Stayman 
with 0 HCP! 

There is a concept called “garbage” 
or “junk” Stayman, but that will also be 
covered in a later installment.


